Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

- - Thursday, Jan. 16, 2020
In Soviet Russia, Coat Wears You - Tuesday, Nov. 13, 2007
At Least It Says 'Queen'... - Thursday, Oct. 04, 2007
See The Conkering Hero Comes - Monday, Sept. 17, 2007
A Friend in Need - Monday, Aug. 27, 2007

Monday, Sept. 17, 2007 - 12:50 pm

I�m calling this one. There�s been mist, there�s been bright sunshine without too much heat, I�ve turned my ankle on any number of conkers trying to leave my flat and I�ve heard the geese commuting overhead every night this week so far, so�

Autumn! Yay!

Also, the Continental market was in town this weekend, so I have Polish sausage and French cheese and fresh warm bread. And Sunday was the Festival on the Green, with a band and a Gospel choir and stalls and a barbecue and a �Beer & Pimm�s Tent� (quoth the flatmate �This is why the good God gave us two hands.�) so that�s a signifier too. All good Autumn-y stuff. As soon as I can step outside and have to come back in for a jumper I�ll be perfectly satisfied.

To be fair there�s only been one incidence of mist so far, but when I open my blinds in the morning and can�t see the end of my own damn�d garden then that counts. By the time I�d walked from the Tube to school my hair was dripping. And it�s kinda creepy walking across a wide open park when you can�t see the other side, or even people coming towards you on the path. A little boy and I gave each heart attacks looming up on each other, and I damn near walked into a tree. Not a little tree, either.

So now I just have to wrestle myself to the ground before I find myself in town buying new boots. I bought two new jumpers whilst in Gloucester in August and now I have to go back and buy another. The same jumper, I just want it in three of its four available colours (the white can go fug itself). It�s that nice a jumper. Or dress. Or whatever it�s calling itself. Whatever, they go over jeans. I�m trying to convince myself at the mo that I don�t actually need new boots, that all the boots I have are still perfectly serviceable, but I don�t know how long this is going to last.

I think it�s all about the cafes as well, and it�s not like there aren�t twenty thousand little cafes out on my own high street, never mind going into central London. I like sitting outside cafes in two jumpers and a coat drinking hot chocolate. It�s not quite necessary yet, but I�m planning ahead. I like it when I�m actually looking forward to getting on a Tube because it means a restoration of the circulation, rather than having to pre-plan a layer of loo paper under all my clothes to soak up the inevitable sheen of ick. I like getting up in the dark and coming home in the dark. Someone open an ice-rink already.

I think � the weather issues aside � it�s all about the downward slide (or the upward swing, depending on how one views it). If it�s September then it�s almost my birthday (sixteen days, people; tick �em off); my brother�s got a gig on the actual night and I�m vaguely considering going up the dogs the weekend after (hey, I�ve made a profit before�). Once my birthday�s been and gone there�s 101 little community events and friends� birthdays through October and November and before you know it it�s Advent and we all know where that ends. It�s whatever I use and have always used to mark off the days on my mind�s internal calendar, the traditions and the past-times I look forward to. Turns out I�m a community animal at heart. All the good stuff in my life happens between September and mid-April (Easter being the original movable feast that it is, and btw pace my Father�s birthday). All the stuff I look forward to happens when it�s not warm and not sunny and I�m wrapped in layers

� I�ve also just realised how much of it involves food, but that may just be the spirit of the pear �n� Nutella crepe making sure its memory is not forgotten �

and I have an excuse to break out the tweed and the gloves and the boots.

Anyhoo. Autumn. Aforementioned yay-ness, like I don�t bang on about this every year. Bring it on, world. Make it cold and frosty, and then give me warm and welcoming people and places so I can be extra glad to have reached them. Make it dark, so that I can choose to go to places with light, or not.

And I say let there be conkers, and there were conkers, and it was good.

previous - next


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com


Cortisol about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!